RSS

Category Archives: Uncategorized

Author Interview with Gabrielle Harbowy

I am over at Tynga’s Reviews today to interview author Gabrielle Harbowy. Though I usually review YA, this was a special request. Click the picture or here to follow.gears-of-faith-300x455

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 5, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Thoughts on 13 Reasons Why – the Show’s Critics

Netflix's_13_Reasons_Why_title_screen
I’ve just finished watching Netflix’s 13 Reasons Why yesterday (read my blog post on the book), and I’ve seen posts (like Fox News, USAToday, etc.) going around warning people about watching this show and how it glorifies suicide, especially since the show depicted Hannah’s suicide in real time.

I am not a mental health or other professional who deals with suicide and suicide prevention, but I want to share why I disagree with these posts as a teen librarian and a reader.

*SPOILERS AHEAD*

First, I don’t think this show OR the book argue for suicide as a choice. Obviously, 13 Reasons Why stands for Hannah’s 13 reasons why she chose to go through with her act of suicide. As the audience hears these reasons, told by Hannah, about her peers and the things they’ve done to hurt her and watches them play out in the past and in the present day, the real focus is how a series of events can affect a person to be pushed so far into depression, isolation, and a desperate desire to find any way to stop the pain. This person can easily feel like they have no self-worth through this process and that the only way out–to make it stop–is to stop living.

“Suicide is the third leading cause of death for 10-24 year olds in the US…As an adolescent, [teens] are a part of a particularly vulnerable group that can encounter pressure from [their] family and peer groups. Some problems [they] may face include family breakdown, sexuality, body imagery (anorexia, bulimia, obesity), and social, school, and peer pressures. These problems could lead to a state of depression, which is the most common cause of suicide” (Teen Health & Wellness, “Suicide”).

Instead of arguing that this is a validated way out, the lessons drawn from the show are really how having a friend, someone to talk to who really cares and listens, can make a difference in the life of a person who is thinking about suicide.

“When people talk about suicide, listen, as it can be a cry for help” (Teen Health & Wellness, “Suicide”).

The show also reflects the reverberations of suicide on other people around them (called “survivors”) through Alex’s choice to shoot himself, which illustrates that a person thinking about suicide and their choice DOES affect more than themselves, sometimes causing a chain effect of other suicides or attempted suicides.

Suicide prevention training tells you to notice the people around you, if someone has changed a physical appearance drastically or given away their possessions or withdrawn from things. If they mention suicide or have a fascination with death. How your interest can really make a difference in this person’s decision to act.

The show encourages teens to recognize the effects their behaviors and words can have on others and take responsibility for those actions. Sure, Hannah made the decision and act of suicide, but each of her Reasons gave her pain and so much that she finally felt she couldn’t live with it. You never know how someone else is feeling and how something you did negatively can affect them. It’s better to have a positive impact than leave a possibility of hurt.

Also, I want to state here that the point is not that teens being kind or friendly can save someone who is having suicidal thoughts. It’s that noticing someone having suicidal thoughts and taking the step to get them help that can save them. I don’t think this help always has to come from a mental health professional for teens, especially, because “every 100 minutes” a teen is thinking about acts of suicide (Teen Health & Wellness, “Suicide”). However, the more powerful, meaningful, and impactful connections a teen has to, say, parents, friends, and other positive associations who are willing to listen to the teen’s feelings and be there for them can make a difference in that teen’s decisions on whether to attempt suicide or find suicide as an option. It’s not simply being kind. Teens already might have a distrust of other adults or people whom they are not familiar with saying they can help them. It is that much more important to have someone a teen trusts to be there for them and listen enough to maybe stay with them while they do seek the professional help they might need.

Finally, the show adds a must-watch final statement after the finale called “13 Reasons Why: Beyond the Reasons” that goes in-depth about the show, their efforts, and has mental health professionals talking about suicide and how the viewer can help others who might be in this situation and gives resources if they themselves feel this way. 

Don’t just judge this book and series off posts intending to incite anger or censor viewership. Take the chance to learn about empathy and what teens or other people might be experiencing that you might never see. See their world through their eyes and make it better and hopefully recognize these signs in others. (However, if you are a survivor of suicide or have been assaulted or have ever self-harmed or might experience trauma from the graphic scenes, please do use your own judgment whether to watch or not!)

 

For more information on suicide and suicide prevention, see these resources:

National Institute for Mental Health

National Suicide Prevention Hotline

Project Semicolon

Society for the Prevention of Teen Suicide

American Psychological Association’s “7 Essential Steps Parents Can Take to Prevent Teen Suicide

 

Works Cited:

“Suicide.” Teen Health and Wellness, Rosen Publishing, October 2016, www.teenhealthandwellness.com/article/316/suicide. Accessed 19 Apr. 2017.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Stacking the Shelves [250]

I’ve posted some recent additions to my TBR pile over at Tynga’s Reviews today! Click the picture to follow or click here!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 1, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Life Update

Hi readers,

I thought I would write you a quick note to explain why I’ve been so sporadic with posting. Skip if you don’t want to read personal stuff (though I don’t try to go on too long a rant)!

The short of it is that this year has been more demanding than I had anticipated.

The longer version: My family had a health scare at the beginning of the year, and typically I write a few posts in advance, but this, combined with some other activities resulted in much less time and energy for myself and for my reading/blogging. I also switched to working a different night and my routine writing times changed, making it harder to get a post finalized before my usual Tuesday posting day. I have had a harder time catching up while behind since having a family leaves little mental clarity for writing, especially when this writing, while awesome, isn’t one that feels like an enjoyable me-time activity (like reading or writing my book or watching tv). Sometimes we don’t anticipate how life’s commitments will change us, and this is an area that has suffered. It’s something I definitely want to do better, but there are certainly more areas than just my blogging that has had reduced attention. I’ve not been able to read the quantity I have in the past, or been able to focus on other hobbies and priorities that I miss and highly value.

So, all of that being said, readers, I still love you all and sharing great (or at least good) books with you. I’ll try to do better, but I’m also not trying to put pressure on myself. It makes the writing less pleasurable. Hopefully though, since I’ve got a backlog of posts and awesome books I’ve been reading, you’ll see more soon. (Don’t count on it though since we’re heading into the holidays. I never have extra time during the holidays!)

Happy reading, and I do hope you’ll all pick something literary for Halloween! (Oh no, that’s another thing I’ve yet to do…) Feel free to share yours!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 17, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 New YA

There seem to be a lot of fabulous new YA titles coming out every year, and the number is only increasing. I noticed from years back that I am really starting to be unable to catch up! Still, here are some of the debut titles/authors I am looking forward to during this year.

Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 New YA

download (1)1. Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

Why I am looking forward to it: Look at that beautiful cover! Plus this seems like a fantastic adventure…

51keXjqvB2L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg2. The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

Magic? Russia? A read-a-like for Leigh Bardugo? Yes!

258977923. Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor

Scotland with time-traveling back to Eleanor of Aquitaine? I do so love historical fiction.

515SFv0pn6L._SX327_BO1204203200_.jpg4. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Another intriguing read with Middle Eastern culture and princesses…

228404215. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

Historical fiction about Lady Jane Grey and a fun mashup.

245291236. This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijakamp

The quick events during a shooting. This is always relevant for this day and age.

257853577. Firstlife by Gena Showalter

The cover and premise are irresistable!

255172838. The Heir and the Spare by Emily Albright

I am a sucker for anything concerning British royalty.

267215689. The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Everyone has been talking about this, it seems like!

2152598810. The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder

The cover makes you want to read this book.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 23, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,