RSS

Favorite Reads of 2015

31 Dec

So, I thought I would share my favorites for 2015, not in any particular order. (Bear in mind, there’s plenty published in 2015 that I did not get to read yet…)

  1. Historical Fiction: The Agency series by Y.S. Lee
  2. Steampunk: The Dark Unwinding by Sharon Cameron
  3. Dystopian: The Darkest Minds series by Alexandra Bracken
  4. Travel/Foreign country: Just One Day by Gayle Forman
  5. Newly Discovered Series: The Grisha by Leigh Bardugo
  6. Newly Discovered Author: Stephanie Perkins
  7. Epic series-enders (four way tie–man, it was a great year!): Sisters’ Fate by Jessica Spotswood, Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs, End of Days by Susan Ee, and Lion Heart by A.C. Gaughen.
  8. Series continuations: Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson (high fantasy), Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater (realistic fantasy & audiobook), and P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han (contemporary).
  9. Cover envy: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
  10. Unexpectedly loved (because she’s a villain!)? The Young Elites by Marie Lu
  11. Older classic:  I Am the Messenger by Marcus Zusak
  12. Graphic Novel: Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson
  13. Stand-alone Romance: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick
  14. Best YA Fantasy of 2015: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  15. Adult/Royalty/Fanfiction: The Royal We by Heather Cocks & Jessica Morgan

By far, my two absolute favorite books for 2015 were The Royal We and Six of Crows. Here’s to hopefully reading more books in 2016 though I’d say 154 isn’t bad!

Happy New Year, readers!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Favorite Reads of 2015

  1. Reader In A Reverie

    January 1, 2016 at 10:11 am

    Great list! I loved Just One Day too – it’s now one of my all-time favourites! I still have yet to read Six of Crows, which is kind of annoying because I loved the Grisha trilogy and it’s on everyone’s favourites list this year!

     
    • Kara

      January 1, 2016 at 10:19 am

      Six of Crows has been on everyone’s favorites! I was reading it when they kept popping up, so I was anxious to finish it. Haven’t written my review yet, but I won’t spoil anything. It has fantastic characters and an exciting plot. Absolutely 5 star worthy! Go read!!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
