RSS

Children’s fiction – The Penderwicks

14 Sep

In June I took a children’s literature class which required me to read and write on 70 children’s books. However, as I cannot stand reading a book in a series and not being able to continue, I ended up reading over 100+ books in a month. A wonderful series I came across (that I absolutely have to endorse) is about the Penderwick family by Jeanne Birdsall.

the penderwicksBook 1: The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Book 2: The Penderwicks on Gardam Street

Book 3: The Penderwicks at Point Mouette 

I can definitely see this becoming a classic series for modern children. It should be noted the series is for readers ages 9 and up, or grades four and up. However, parents should consider reading this with their children as they will find it an engaging and touching read too. For a children’s book, it has potential for a wide appeal to all types of readers. The first book in the series is a National Book Award Winner.

I absolutely loved the characters, and it almost brought back the feelings of childhood for me. I cannot do each of them justice enough, but I will say that the writing just effortlessly flows along until you’re so unaware of how much you’ve read and that you really quite like the story and wish to keep reading. For summaries, please read the Amazon reviews and note that the books are practically at 5 stars.

I will note that although I do love the series (and want to buy them, keep them, share them with my children in x years), I cannot stand Jane’s Sabrina Starr. I just cannot. Her name annoys me. Her constant adventures annoy me…

But alas, I cannot criticize because it would be very much a matter of pot and kettle.

Rating: MUST READ! Loved it! Buy in the future!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 14, 2012 in Children, Contemporary Fiction

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment